8 months in

So, we’re 8 months into an overseas adventure…& I haven’t blogged about it once. I’d love to say that I’ve thought about it all the time, but I haven’t even done that. It’s such an important part of my life–& that of my family’s–that I haven’t been able to write anything about it. Funny how that happens…The same thing happened when I had our first, Zoë: all of a sudden, my penchant for chronicling all things went out the window. It was as though the weight of it all was so much that I couldn’t really process it all, whether it be in the moment or after the fact…The same way that my husband, who was a music theater major & has a wonderful singing voice (that he seduced me with purposefully the first night we met), won’t sing to our kids. Ever. No lullabies. No a capella serenades. Why? Because he says he’ll cry. He sticks to limericks instead.

So, it’s all too much, but not in a bad way. I just don’t know if I’m supposed to be processing & writing down just my experience, or if I’m also responsible for remembering everyone’s. Not possible, of course. So, I don’t even try. Clearly, a pathetic excuse. So I will attempt. Essayer. That’s all these essays are–just attempts, all over the blogosphere; attempts to distill our experiences into something real, to craft our reactions & responses into memories that will linger & last.

I’m promising myself that I will find a way to write about it. But that might take me until tomorrow.

IMG_0867

Have something to add? Please do so tastefully.

